Inside the Houston Symphony

Taking you behind the music–one concert at a time!

How I got to Carnegie Hall

with one comment

Violinist Kiju Joh shares a little bit about what she loves most in NYC–the food!

Hey everyone!  I am writing from New York City, where we kick-off The Planets–An HD Odyssey tour.  After an amazing and successful weekend showcasing The Planets program to our local Houston audiences, there is no rest for us yet.  Must, keep, momentum, going!  I am really looking forward to performing in Carnegie Hall on Thursday night (guess all of my practice, practice, practicing paid off?), especially since this will be my very first time doing so.  Going on tour is always an exciting experience – the musical preparation; the scattered trunks, traveling cases, and organized chaos backstage; the anticipation of traveling out-of-town; the allure of the cities to which we travel.

We officially start the tour schedule Thursday afternoon with a sound-check at the hall.  I decided to travel a few days early to NYC since I love coming here to visit family and friends, explore museums and shops, visit the not-so-secret best-kept-secret establishments, ride the subway…

Most of all, I love coming here to EAT.

Of course, pizza is a requisite part of one’s NYC gastronomical experience (I highly recommend the balsamic onion and goat cheese pizza at Otto Pizzeria on 5th Ave. Goat cheese, need I say more?  Also, the Margherita pizza at Ray’s on Prince St. is quite tasty).  Upon arrival to the city on Monday evening, though, I couldn’t help but notice all the ramen restaurants that have taken over lower Manhattan.  Was this my calling?  I felt strangely compelled to make ramen tasting my new epicurean mission (after bacon-y dessert making.  I’ll explain later).  Tuesday, lunch and dinner, was devoted to eating ramen.  All different kinds of ramen at all different kinds of places.  The good, the bad, and the “shi shi”.  It sounds overwhelming, but I did have help splitting bowls and received lots of motivational encouragement (thanks EMP).  Still, at the end of the day, I came to the realization, I had basically just eaten carbs all day.

In my defense, that is what we musicians do.  We eat.  We store up energy.  To me, it is a necessary component of our extremely physical livelihood.  Without sustenance, it would be impossible to move our arms up and down, wiggle our fingers, flail about, stomp our feet, do what is physically necessary to produce the sounds of music and enhance our art.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.  (Watch another example of how one artistically utilizes carbs).

How did I get to Carnegie Hall?  I ate my way here.

Next post, my very first Carnegie Hall experience!  Next stop, Florida!

Written by kiju

January 28, 2010 at 1:02 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very good article I like your website carry on the good articles

    Download Software For Free

    February 5, 2010 at 8:34 pm


Leave a Reply

